On Your Mark, Get Set….Making Disney Dining Reservations

If you’re going to Walt Disney World and you have the dining plan (or even if you don’t) it’s always recommended you make dining reservations. There are 2 ways you can do this. The traditional way was always calling Disney Dining (407-WDW-DINE) at 7 a.m. 180 days prior to your arrival day and you can make the dining reservations for your entire trip. The second way (which I now recommend) is going online to www.WaltDisneyWorld.com at 6 a.m. and you can make the same reservations an hour earlier than anyone who is calling.

This morning I did just that. By 6:01 a.m. I was online to make my birthday dinner reservation at my favorite restaurant O’Hana at the Polynesian Resort. It’s a very popular restaurant so I figured I’d better go online to make the reservation as that would give me a jump ahead of anyone who calls at 7 a.m.

Well, it’s fortunate that I did because I got the only dining time left for that day…8:15 p.m.! Luckily, that’s around the time we usually have dinner so I was fine with it. But it proves that people are making their dining reservations online! And it was an easy process but remember to have your resort confirmation number and your credit card handy as you will need to provide both to complete the reservation. Not all Disney restaurants fill up that quickly but many of the popular ones do such as Chef Mickey’s and breakfast with the princesses. I remember I had tried to get a reservation for Le Celier in Canada, located in Epcot and well-known for its steaks. It actually took several Disney trips before I was able to secure a dinner reservation for that restaurant. That’s why it’s important to make your reservations 180 days out. Even if it’s not high travel season in Disney, most people make dining reservations. And make sure to let Disney Dining know if you’re celebrating! In 2009 we went to the California Grill for our anniversary dinner and found our table decorated and they brought us a special dessert!

Leave a Reply

