Traveling by Plane

Two weeks ago I was at an airport hotel the night before an early morning flight to Boston. I overheard a couple at the front desk saying they had a 7:30 a.m. flight and asking what time they should catch the complimentary shuttle to the airport. The desk clerk told them 6:30 a.m. should be fine. I cringed when I heard that. So many people miss flights because they don’t allow enough time to get through airport security. And that’s really no way to start your vacation.
It’s suggested that for domestic flights you arrive at the airport 2 hours before departure and for international flights, 3 hours. Weekends are very busy at major airports and personally, I’d rather be sitting at the gate with a nice cup of coffee than missing my flight.
I enjoy flying now mostly due to a recent discovery. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been motion sick from cars, buses and planes. Believe it or not, I can get motion sick from an elevator if it makes too many stops!
Over the years I’ve tried many over-the-counter medicines for motion sickness that worked but the tired and drowsy effects lasted throughout the entire day.
Earlier this month while traveling to Gatlinburg, Tenn., on a bus trip, I decided to try the herb ginger root. I’d heard a lot about it working well for motion sickness and not causing any drowsiness.
It not only worked well enough to keep me from getting motion sick, I was able to read on the bus!
After it worked for the bus ride I knew I had to try it for my short flight to Boston so I would be sure it would work for my upcoming flight to Disney.
And work it did!
I can’t tell you the last time I was able to keep my eyes open for take off (which is usually when I get the most motion sick).
Now I feel like I can actually enjoy flying!
My 2-year-old granddaughter (and the whole family) will be flying to Walt Disney World in Florida soon and I could not imagine not being able to see her excitement as we take off. Now I don’t have to miss that or feel drowsy the entire day.

Sharon Spohn is a travel agent with Liberty Travel in the Coventry Mall, Pottstown. She can be reached at 610-327-8400 or spohns@libertytravel.com. Read her other travel blog, The Rest of the World, at http://myothertravels.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

