Fourth of July in Disney

With the July 4th holiday just around the corner I feel compelled to tell you that if you’re in Disney on that date you need to get to the Magic Kingdom early in the day. This is one of those days where the park gets so full that it actually hits capacity and yes, Disney does close the park when it gets to capacity.

In 2001 when I traveled to Disney to see the Boyertown Alumni Band perform in the Magic Kingdom on  the 4th of July, the park reached capacity at 10:30 a.m. We had to stay in the park or take the chance of not getting back in at 3 p.m. when the alumni band was scheduled to march down Main Street. I believe the temperature was somewhere in the mid 90’s that day. It was excruciatingly hot waiting for that parade to begin but we would duck into nearby stores to catch a glimpse of air conditioning.

This is the time of year when those spray bottles with misting fans are needed to beat the heat. Whether you buy them before you go and save a few bucks or buy them there for about $20, its money well spent. Especially on days when those ever popular mid-afternoon thunderstorms don’t happen!

But when the sun goes down and it cools off a few degrees, you’ll be glad you spent the holiday in Disney.

Fireworks on the 4th of July are amazing. But seeing fireworks in Disney created a problem for me. Now I have no desire to see fireworks anywhere else. I compare all the other fireworks displays to the ones in Disney (yes, I know…not fair to compare but I can’t help it and I still do it).

So this July 4th, as I once again travel with the Boyertown Alumni Band to Gatlinburg, Tennessee, finding out that I’d miss the fireworks display didn’t bother me at all. I’ll be seeing my favorite fireworks next month when I arrive in Disney.

Leave a Reply

